at the ground

The players, teams , issues involved with the Rugby World Cup 2015

Exclusive interview with George Ford and father/head coach Mike Ford

Leave a comment

George Ford was England’s success story from the Autumn, yes with a little help from his friends. The truth is when George Ford got his start against Samoa that is when England looked like they were back on course.

George Ford

George in action for Bath , looks like he is about to make a huge step off his right

Now a month after the Autumn internationals George Ford is preparing for yet another big battle. Bath are away to Leicester on Sunday the 4th. Leicester being a club he played for and winning silverware starring in their 2012 victory in the LV-Cup final.

He represented England at U-18 and U-20 then made his England debut in the 2014 Six Nations coming on as a replacement in England’s match against Wales. The 21 year old will be looking ahead to this year as one which holds much promise.

article-0-130F8249000005DC-241_634x500

George in Leicester colours beating Charlie Hodgson

For Bath looking to make the knock out stages in both the Aviva Premiership and in the European Rugby Champions Cup. For England George will be wanting to contribute in England’s Six Nations Championship campaign and ultimately I’m sure George will want to be in England’s World Cup squad.

FordEuro0_3108355b

George coming on for England replacing good mate Owen Farrel

George seems to be a level headed man and is taking nothing for granted and seems grounded.

George you have played in teams before alongside Owen Farrel. Are you two mates?

George Ford : Yes we are. Owen and I have known each other a long time, grew up together and we get on really well.

Being chosen ahead of Owen especially for the Wallaby test, how did you feel regarding Owen?

George Ford : It was hard, but I was looking forward to taking my chance and I know he was backing me.

Was Owen Supportive?

George Ford : Yes he was- we’re very supportive of each other and we discussed various tactics with each other in the lead up to the games.

Were any of the players involved in the Samoa Test and the Wallaby Test, guys that were like rugby heroes to you?

George Ford : Both teams have hugely talented players in and you respect all of them. My heroes tend to be a little older-the guys I used to watch growing up like Dan Carter, Matt Giteau and Johnny Wilkinson.

How does it feel standing in front of the Twickenham crowd singing the anthem?

George Ford : It’s an incredible feeling-you feel really honoured and proud to be out there representing your country at a sport you love.Hopefully I’ll get more opportunities to do that,and I’m sure I’ll have the same sense of honour each time. Seeing your family in the crowd makes it very emotional.

Do the Samoan tackles  hurt as bad as they seem to spectators?

George Ford : All tackles hurt these days! All teams have their powerful big hitters but it’s part and parcel of the game and your body adapts to it.

Ford2

George in action against the Wallabies up against an equally fantastic talent Quade Cooper

What do you offer the England team?

George Ford : I try to be as good as I can be in every area of my game.Whatever I do is to  try make the team better so hopefully we can get good results.

Has fly-half always been your position?

George Ford : I played stand-off in Rugby League when I was growing up but I’ve always played fly-half in Union.

Some of your Bath teammates have been in fantastic form this year, what are you hoping to achieve with Bath this season?

George Ford : Our Premiership form has been pretty consistent and we want to push on from last season where we just missed out on the play-offs. We are just taking each game at a time and trying to improve every day.

How have the older players been with you in both your club and national level? It can’t be easy bossing the game with so many wise heads around you?

George Ford : They have been great. You don’t really think about age as such on the rugby pitch-all 15 of you are working towards a common goal, so you respect each other and the different insights into how you can achieve that.

Do you think your Rugby League background contributes to your game in Rugby Union?

George Ford : I think so yes. League gives you a good skill set base to work from. In League you constantly practice skills and ball handling as well as attacking the line.

What do you need to improve on to become a better player? By the way you are already a pretty awesome player.

George Ford : Ha thank you. There’s always ways that a player can improve and I’m no different. I look at all areas of my game, analysing them and working out what I could’ve done better in different situations-I don’t think I’ll ever stop doing that.

George-Ford

Good boy George! Give the passer a target, get those hands up.

Who do you get on best with in your club team? and in the England team?

George Ford : Both Bath and England have a great bunch of lads. I lived with Mickey Young until recently, and get on well with the likes of Kyle Eastmond and Sam Burgess and then in England obviously Owen and I are close.

Outside of rugby , what are your interests?

George Ford : Not a whole lot other than watching rugby.Go and chill with the lads for a coffee and try to spend a lot of time with my family.

I have found George’s performances pretty inspirational and wanted to know more about him so who better to ask than his Dad.

How would you describe George Ford the player?

Mike Ford : He’s very consistent but also capable of doing the unexpected-he’s got everything you look for in a fly-half.

How would you describe George Ford the man?

Mike Ford : Mature beyond his years, very calm and keeps his feet on the ground.

Is it difficult working with your son?

George+Ford+Harlequins+v+Bath+Aviva+Premiership+NjGRdTofoz4l

I’ve told you before George at work I’m head coach , when the game is over I’ll be Dad again, now give me a fist pump

Mike Ford : Not at all-we separate home and work as much as we can-at work I’m his head coach and he is a player and we’re father and son away from that.

Is it difficult watching your son in such big games?

Mike Ford : Not really-it’s more a sense of huge pride I feel.I think his mum finds it harder to watch him.!

Leave a Reply

